Smells Of Roses

Here is another none native Syzygium species that I found yesterday I caught a glimpse of the fruit whilst driving to town I turned around and went back and I seen these large whitish fruit hanging in the tree and heaps of seeds on the ground, I had been in bed for a week or so and these had fruited ripened and were nearly finished within that week because they were not there last week, I drive past these trees every time I go to town and I wouldn’t have missed them so you have to be quick for these ones.

Rose apple Syzygium jambos

The fruit has a strong floral smell and I couldn’t quite put my finger on what they smelt like but it was familiar and after finding out what one of the common names is for them it all clicked, they smell of roses hence the common name rose apple, the botanical name is Syzygium jambos.
When you shake the fruit the large seeds inside rattle which is unusual for a Syzygium most I have come across the seeds are firmly held within the flesh not absolutely loose like these, the flesh is crisp and sweet by far this one is my favorite it is sublime, I’m so lucky I came across these.
I kept several to eat fresh in the next couple of day but I had to cook the rest up so yes another jam, I added tamarind (Tamarindus indica) to this one and it is gorgeous.

Leave a Reply

