Greener pastures, a reprieve from tha red dust

So I have been travelling now for a few months n not finding much in tha way ov edible weeds n tha like since well Alice Spring really but last week in the Pilbra area ov Western Australia  I  came across this gorgeous free camping ground next to the DeGrey River, it was a refreshing green change from tha red dirt country surrounds.
After picking my spot n figuring out where the sun will rise n setting my fire place accordingly tha two most important things to me I wondered off down tha path that weaved it’s way threw n unda spectacular weeping paper bark’s towards tha wata’s edge to see if there would be any good fishin spots, not long down tha path I noticed what I thought was a variegated thistle ov some sort but on closer inspection I realize it had a poppy flower in place ov the expected thistle flower, I have since found they were Argemone ochroleuca gone feral up here, it is very pretty n got my hopes up ov otha weedy friends being present n yes as I looked even closer n got my weed eye back in I recognized an old long missed favorite Puha (Sonchus sp.), so I was absolutely thrilled I can tell ya, I hadn’t had fresh greens for quite some time like I said n my body was yearning for them so I jotting that spot down in my not so good memory bank n ventured further down tha path n the further I walk the more n more young lush green Puha leaves I seen they were everywhere,it was the most I had actually seen in one area in my whole life a, it was like a green fantasy land.
I thought to myself there was so much I would stay a few days n actually dry a heap to replenish my stores which I did n if I catch a fish bonus.

Puha (Sonchus sp) n Purslane (Portulaca sp.)I didn’t catch any fish by tha way but I had picked up a roo tail up tha road earlier on that day so camp fire Roo tail stew wid Puha n fresh spelt damper was on tha menu.

Roo Tail, Puha (Sonchus sp) n Purslane (Portulaca sp.)

Roo Tail Stew n Spelt Damper n teaIt was a fabulous meal in a beautiful spot, the Roo tail was so sticky n tender, tha Puha so fresh n after repeatedly dipping the heavy damper into the stew then into my mouth I could fit no more in n like a cat that has just devoured it’s prey n probably a native animal I sat contentedly by tha fire until all the food settled down lower in my stomach n I could actually move to go to bed, stuff dreams are made ov a, well my idea ov livin tha dream n eating like a queen anyway n for only tha cost ov a can ov tomatoes n corn, a few spuds n onions, oil ect n this fed me quite indulgently for a few days. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

