Salsify Flower Omelet

Sorry guys for the long time between post but I have been busy setting up my van/home, So I thought I better do a quick one this morning.Image
This is a salsify flower (Tragopogon sp.) omelette the flowers of the salsify are one of my all time favorite wild edibles I threw a heap of seeds around my garden last season and I have been munching on them all this spring.
They are yummy raw strait of the plant they look fantastic in salads and are a great cooked veg as well, my favorite way to cook them is in an omelet.
So I first cut them in half long ways just so the heat can penetrate them a bit then I add them to my lightly whisked duck eggs, finely chopped onion, salt and pepper then cook until slightly golden brown you can add what ever else you like of course and you can put a dollop of what ever yummy sauces or relishes you like.

Image
Well just a short one today to say I am still here 🙂

One comment on “Salsify Flower Omelet

Leave a Reply

