Winter Herbal Honey

Here is one of my winter experiments, I got some beautiful raw honey from the local markets and decided to make a winter herbal honey.

Borage (Borago officinalis) and Calendula flowers

Borage (Borago officinalis) and Calendula flower

My Borage (Borago officinalis) is in flower and I thought I would utilize these gorgeous blue blooms and there were a few Calendular (Calendula officinalis) flowers too so I picked these and dried them of in a very low oven before putting in the honey to prevent any molding. I also added all dried Rosemary, Chillie, Mullein (Verbascum sp.) root and citrus peel. I heated the honey ever so slightly so it would run easily and there for there would be less air bubbles created when poured over the herbs. I will let this sit for a few week before I start using it I’m going to use it like a sore throat soother if I start to get a sore throat again I will suck on a teaspoon of this before bed. I heard about Borage flower syrup being used for sore throats, thats what gave me the idea but I wanted to avoid the sugar so I used honey and then I just added what ever else I thought would help!

It could be used for an energy boast or just as a daily immunity booster.

It look gorgeous I love the feeling of making my own medicine I’m getting rite into it!

Herbal honey

Well give it ago. 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

