Life after Death

Not long ago we had quite bad fires in my area no one was hurt but a large area was burnt. Driving past not to long after the fires everything was blackened and it was a scene of devastation but now a few months and some rain later the areas once blackened and life less are exploding with lush edible greenness!
On the way home from Hobart the other afternoon I stopped and collected a basket full of some sort of mustard greens (Barassica sp.) leaves and flowers, hawthorn berries (Crataegus sp.) some fennel and some pine needles (Pinus radiata).

The mustard greens were the best I have ever seen them they really loved the fire and were thriving, I nibbled on the flowers as a sweet hot treat on the way home and I’m drying the greens to put in stews and soups etc I’m really hoping they keep their heat in the drying process I haven’t done this before but I have just dried some Sow Thistles (Sonchus sp.) and they are great, they smell divine!

Mustard greens (Brassica sp.)

I’m also drying the fennel and hawthorn berries to see how they come out, I was hoping the berries would be good in teas, soups and stews etc I have been putting the pine needles in a herbal tea mix for their vitamin C content and drinking it a few times a day I had a sore throat for two days which was very unusual for me but the strong herbals teas fixed it quick smart!  In my teas I have been putting Mullien (Verbascum sp) ginger, Pine needles (Pinus radiata) Lemon balm, Calandular flowers, Yarrow flowers, Hops, Peppermint, Apple mint, Sow thistles (Sonchus sp.), Californian poppies (Eschscholzia californica) Lemon rind and juice and Honey, it is hot and yummy you can feel it working.
Plus I drink my fermented beet and kale juice and my fermented ginger bug every morning too and I’m sure all this good alive food is helping my body deal with the cold weather this winter.

Well that’s it for now it is a bit slow not much growing at present but I’m getting exited about spring! 🙂

 

Leave a Reply

