Winter sauces

Jiminey cricket it’s cold out side, there is snow on the mountain and it is wet and blowing a gale, good day to cook all day I recon, and with the wood heater cranked I and the house were soon warm! there isn’t much space on the old wood heater it isn’t a proper wood stove I’m still dreaming about that, so I could only cook one thing at a time because if I have the heater going I don’t like to use the gas cooker as well but thats ok I was in no hurry.

I thought it was going to be ruff so I got Hawthorn berries (Crataegus sp.) and stewed field mushrooms (Agaricus campestris) out of the freezer the night before, now I’m freezing in glass I cant just grab things out run under water and use in my normal last minute spontaneous way I have to let them defrost slowly so more planing but it is way worth training myself to do it this way rather than using all that poisonous plastic rubbish which I’m determined to be rid of in my life!

Field mushrooms (Agaricus campestris)

Hawthorn berries (Cataegus sp.)

 

 

 

 

 

 

I lit the heater and made myself a yummy breakie,  first things first hay! my new season ducks that I bred and hatched just after Xmas had started laying and I was exited and eger to taste their rich orange yumminess, I poured my beet kavass had fried my fermented bread, fried up some wood blewits (Clitocybe nuda) and left over potato and jerusalem artichokes and last but not leased I cracked the egg into the fry pan it was a double yoker I had never had a double yoked duck eggs before so I took a picture to share. YUM!

Yummy breakie to start the day

So after my fabulous breakie I started with the 2 mushroom sauce, 2 mushroom because yes there are 2 different mushrooms in it!  I had never made a mushroom sauce before but thought I would give it a crack, I had already stewed the field mushroom earlier on in the season so they had water, salt and pepper added to them already, I threw these in a big pot and brought them up to the boil while they were heating up I peeled, chopped and fried a heap of onions for both sauces, I added half this mix to the mushroom once boiling and then I added all the other ingredients and let this simmer for a while strained cooked again with the sugar and bottled the full recipe is below.

I started a yeast spelt bread as well I thought seeing as the house was so warm I would take advantage of that too, once I finished the mushroom sauce I made a start on the hawthorn berries I put these in a big pot covered with water and simmered until the berries were nice and soft, once cooled I put these through the mouli (hand food mill) and saved all the seedless pulp, I added all the other ingredients to this hard boiled and bottled by the time I had done this the bread was ready and in the oven.

2 Mushroom sauce recipe

  • 2 kg Field mushroom (Agaricus campestris)
  • 3 cups dried Slippery jack (Suillus luteus)
  • 1  liter water or more
  • 10 bay leaves
  • 1 teaspoon pepper
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1 spring of rosemary
  • ½ cup chilly flakes
  • 2 cups fruit vinegar
  • 1 cup soy sauce
  • 2 table spoons balsamic vinegar

The field mushrooms I used here were stewed and frozen so they had liquid in them already about a litre of water so if you do this recipe from fresh mushrooms you need to add this water.

Add field mushroom to pot (with 1 litre water if fresh) add 2 cups of extra water add dried Slippery jacks (Suillus luteus), vinegars, soy sauce, bay leaves, rosemary, chilly flakes, salt and pepper and simmer for 20 minutes, strain this mixture and put the liquid back in pot with the sugar and hard boil for another 20 minutes and bottle.

The recipe for the hawthorn sauce is in the recipe section of my page the only difference to this one was I added some fermented horse radish to it, my cooking is very organic and spontaneous every time I make a sauce they are slightly different thats what makes it exciting every time I cook, I don’t follow strict recipes I just use a basic recipes be it bread, sauces, muffins or what ever and add what ever is available at the time.

Well all in all it was a very productive day indeed the mushroom sauce is one of the most flavorful amazing recipes I have come up with so far, I was very chuffed with myself!

Leave a Reply

