New Mushroom Indulgences

Well I wanted to share yet another post on wild mushrooms I was really exited about finding two new mushroom species I can eat that taste great this season. This has been the most abundant and varied mushroom foraging season I have ever experienced and I can only hope that the mushroom fairies keep blessing me with this abundance every year… 🙂

Lepista irina

There was a group of these above, Lepista irina growing under some desidious trees just down the road from my house they are a nice big mushroom with good texture and great taste! I don’t know a common name for these.

A little further down the road from these was the other new one Tricholoma terreum apparently known as the Grey knight or Dirty tricholoma, these are a small crisp fleshed mushroom and they to taste great as well!

Grey knight (Tricholoma terreum)

I’m so wrapped I have found more scrumptious mushrooms to eat and there are plenty of these around here in Tassie I have seen them everywhere I look for other species but the other one above Lepista irina is not so common.
Along with these on that day I picked Wood blewits (Clitocybe nuda) and a small amount of Saffron milk caps (Lactarius deliciosus) as well.
Now the process I go through when trying a new edible mushroom is that I only try a small amount and see how I feel the next day I try more and if I’m ok after this I eat as I like, this is a good idea when trying any wild food for the first time.

I don’t have any pictures of the Lepista irina as a prepared meal I like to try new mushroom just seasoned and not mixed with other ingredients so I can taste the mushroom flavor on it’s own so I didn’t take pictures of them because it just looked like a plate of mushrooms really and it is getting harder because it is nearly winter here and by the time I eat of a night it is to dark now so looks like I will have to have big breakfasts or lunches so I can keep blogging!
But I did take a picture of the Grey knights (Tricholoma terreum) tonight because I went back for another harvest today.

Grey knight (Tricholoma terreum) and Wood blewits (Clitocybe nuda) with pasta, there is pasta under there!

A little bit more bragging, sorry, I also harvested a basket full of Parasol (Macrolepiota procera) mushrooms last week and have been eating them all week too. I made a free range egg and spelt pasta and added the parasols, salt and pepper, nice and plain but it tasted absolutely amazing, I only ever if I’m lucky get a small amount of these I only know of one patch in my area so I look forward to these every year….. who am I kidding I look forward to all the wild mushrooms every year!!

Parasol mushrooms (Macrolepiota procera)

Parasol mushrooms (Macrolepiota procera)

I will be updating my mushroom list shortly, well thats it for now I hope you have been as lucky with wild mushrooms as I have been this year, enjoy!

4 comments on “New Mushroom Indulgences

Leave a Reply

