Fennel candies gone wrong.

Well that was a bit of a disaster…… but I made it into something very special, I tried to make a wild fennel (foeniculum vulgare) hard candy from the beautiful fresh wild fennel I foraged the other day but it didn’t completely set so was a bit to soft to use as a candy so thinking, thinking….. aaahu! I will make a syrup out of it.

I looked into the cupboard to see what else I could put into it I grabbed a bit of this and a bit of that put it all into a pot and brewed it all up, I felt like a witch making a potion and I guess it isnt really that different.

So I made a really strong herbal tea added this to the candy mixture boiled it all up again bottled it and bobs ya uncle I ended up with a beautiful winter herbal syrup that should keep any nasty colds or flu at bay not that I ever get sick but it is a yummy relaxing herbal drink hot or cold, I put a dash in my hot tea and it was lovely it is also nice mixed with kombucha and water kefir too, if you eat ice cream you could drizzle it on top and I imagine it would also be nice with gin or vodka on ice.

Winter herbal syrup recipe

  • 8 cups chopped fresh wild Fennel (foeniculum vulgare)
  • 2 cups dried Mullein leaf (Verbascum thapsus)
  • 1 cup dried mullein root (Verbascum thapsus)
  • 1/2 cup dried Rosmary
  • 2 big knobs of Ginger
  • 2 cup of fermented ginger bug liquid
  • 8 6 inch white Willow (Salix alba) sticks
  • 2 6 inch dried Tasmanian Sassafras (Atherosperma moschatum) branches with leaves
  • 5 cups raw sugar
  • 1 cup Honey Suckle (Lonecira japonica) vinegar
  • 2 table spoons molasses
  • 6 drops eucalyptus oil
  • skin of 1 lemon
  • 8 cloves
  • about 2 liter water

Ok put all the dried herbs, cloves and grated ginger in about 1 liter of water and simmer for about 10 minutes, strain put aside, cover fresh chopped fennel with about 1 liter of boiling water let sit for 15 minutes and strain add this and the herbal liquid to the sugar and molasses and heat until all the sugar is dissolved then add the vinegar, ginger bug liquid, lemon skin and eucalyptus oil boil for 20 minutes and bottle. This recipe made about 1.5 liters syrup you will loose a bit through evaporation.

Leave a Reply

