Fungi fun galore!

Ok an update on the Slippery jacks (Suillus luteus) and the Fly agarics (Amanita muscaria), I went out the day after I got my first hand full of mushies and I ended up with 2 large baskets of each and a bunch of Bull thistle roots (Cirsium vulgare), it was an amazingly beautiful day and I was quite proud of my harvest! Oh I got a little bunch of crocus flowers for the vase to, they are just beautiful.

Slippery jacks (Suillus luteus), Fly agarics (Amanits mascaria) Bull thistle roots (Cirsium vulgare) & some Crocus flowers

I dried most of the Slippery jacks just in my sun room with a fan running on them they took 3 days to dry, I vinegar pickled one small jar of the littlest buttons I found. The Slippery jacks are a pain to skin and clean up your hands and knife get a resiny black glue all over them that is quite hard to get off but it is all worth it in the end.

Slippery Jacks (Suillus luteus)

Slippery jacks (Suillus luteus) drying

Slippery jacks (Suillus luteus) dried

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

My Slippery jacks dried nicely, I love these on hand to rehydrate and use in omelets and stews etc.

Fly agarics (Amanita mascaria)

Now the process of making the Fly agarics edible, They must be parboiled for at least 20 minutes in a LOT of water I stress a lot of water I use three the time water to the  mushrooms, the toxin that makes the Fly agaric dangerous is water soluble!

Fly agarics (Amanita mascaria) washed

Fly agarics (Amanita mascaria) washed and sliced ready to parboil

Fly agarics (Amanita mascaria) after parboiling for 20 minutes

Fly agarics (Amanita mascaria) vinegar pickled + 1 Slippery Jack’s (Suillus luteus)

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

You will see that the red color comes out of the mushroom into the water they end up white and the water bright orange I hard boil mine in a lot of water for 15 minutes then I change the water and boil again for a further 5 minutes just to be sure. After this they are packed into jars and water bathed for another 15 minutes and stored in a dark cool cupboard.

They are a yummy mushroom that maintains its firm texture even after all the boiling so they are great for bottling,  with these I just use a mixture of salt, home made fruit vinegar, water and some spices you just make it to your own tastes, these mushies take on all the flavors of the pickling recipe used.

I love mine and am very happy that I have an abundant supply of these all most all year round, that is what makes them so valuable. I also think they are a great mushroom for foragers because they can’t be mistaken for any other mushroom, I am more sure about the identity of these than most others.
I mentioned before that I was fermenting a lot of these this is not to eat, this is for medical rub for back and joint pain, many cultures have used it this way and I am going to experiment with it for my pain. I wont say any more about this experiment until I have actually tried it ok, then I will share my experience with it!

Bull thistle(Cirsium vulgare) roots

Bull thistle(Cirsium vulgare) roots cleaned ready to cook

 

The Bull thistle roots were so good, I just scrapped them clean and boiled then until tender I had these with the Saffron milk caps (Lactarius deliciosus) from the day before I fried the Saffron milk caps in olive oil and tossed in the Bull thistle roots salt and pepper and served them on big hot potato chips with my fermented Zucchini & Chilly relish. YUM!

Bull thistle (Cirsium vulgare) & Saffron milk caps (Lactarius deliciousus) & potato chips and fermented zucchini & chilly relish, Yummy!

Well back to it to see what other mushies I can find.

cheers 🙂

6 comments on “Fungi fun galore!

  1. Hi! I love your blog! I’m an older woman of the American Pacific North West. Was begining to think that I have a “nut job” hobby with wild foraging, until I connected with the free food forum on Facebook. Am interested in the bull thistle. How do you clean and process them to get them ready to cook. Then how do you cook them? It’s early spring here . Is it best to wait for fsll to take thistle roots or can you take them sooner?

  2. Hi Kathy no you aren’t alone I’m a bit obsessed with wild free foods, some would call me eccentric or other less nice things like witch or freak! This is only the second or third time I have experimented with them so not a gun at it yet, they are a biennial and flower in their second year so the best time to dig them as I understand it is in their first autumn, the ones I dug in this spot are first years because this area wasn’t logged last autumn I looked for mushrooms here last year so that made it easy for me to tell how old they were. 🙂

  3. Hey prue, is there any use for the bright orange water leftover from the fly agarics? Could you use it as a dye?

  4. I’m not sure mate I would have to experiment with it I’m doing a natural dying and fiber work shop soon so I will ask the teacher about it, it would need a mordent not sure what one.Exiting! I’m also hoping it has medicinal value for pain relief but I will blog on that when I actually do it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

