Power Packed Roast Garlic Pesto

Well who needs multi vitamin pills when you can have this, my special power packed pesto, it is a bit time consuming and a bit tedious to make but once made it is always at hand and easy to prepare for those days you just don’t have the time or energy to cook a full meal. I keep a big jar of this in my fridge and dip in as I like, it keeps for months no problem.

My friend grew beautiful organic purple garlic this season and I told him I would make him my special pesto coz there was no way he was going to get around to eating it all before it went soft and would start to shoot and it is my way of showing how much I appreciate his help every know and then in my garden. I knew he would love my special pesto and it would be great for those busy days when he gets home from working all day and cant be stuffed cooking up a big health meal and this is much healthier and cheaper than buying take away food.

Gorgeous roast home grow organic purple garlic

So above you can see the gorgeous roast garlic, this is probable the hardest tedious part of the process you have to nip the top of every clove in the head so they don’t explode and so the top just caramelizes a bit, once you have done this you roast in a hot oven for about 35 minutes, this will of cause depend on your oven you don’t want it over cooked because it will be mushy and hard to remove from the skin, it will still be ok just harder to do, so once cooked and cooled carefully remove skins and put into a bowl put aside, now wash and dry the herbs and weeds you are going to use, it is important to remove as much water as possible so it doesn’t make the oil go rancid! Ideally if you don’t have a lettuce spinner (my favorite kitchen appliance) pick and wash herbs in the morning lay on a towel and make this later once they have dried rite off or do greens the day before.

In this recipe I’ve used 2 cups Parsley, 1/3 cup Chives, 1 cup Sow Thistle (Sonchus sp,) 1 cup Fat Hen (Chenpodium album) and 3 heaped tbsp. dried Nettles (Utica dioica), and I used 1/2 tsp. salt, 1/2 tsp. white pepper, 1/2 tsp. black pepper and about 1 1/2 cups of extra virgin olive oil.

The amounts of each green are dependent on what flavors you like, as long as there is enough oil so the pesto sticks together!
Roughly chop herbs and weeds, now for the fun bit, put the roast garlic, herbs and weeds into a food processor turn on and gradually add the extra virgin olive oil until it is all combined nicely, just before it is finished season with salt and peppers to taste and that’s it months of easy healthy meals just add to pasta, couscous, quinoa, or rice, a good idea is if you have a busy life style at the beginning of the week cook up a big pot of one of these and keep in fridge so it is just there ready to be heated up with the pesto and what ever else you like. Or just put a dollop on some steamed or boiled veggies takes 3 minutes, you could even have it on toast or as a dip, I have made fantastic pesto garlic bread with this as well, the uses of this are only limited by your imagination! The problem is not eating it all at once, with something so special you want to make it last or you just need to make a big heap at once!……. If you aren’t growing your own organic garlic it can be expensive! I made about 600 grams out of the garlics in the picture above!

 

Just bottle and put in the fridge it last for months!

You want be sorry if you give this a go, I hope you enjoy as much as I do!

Leave a Reply

