Red Fin Perch Patties

Just a quick recipe I’d like to share, my grandfather dropped off some really small Red Fin Perch to me yesterday he hadn’t scaled them and when Red Fin Perch aren’t scaled straight away they are really hard to do so I decided I would make patties I have never actually done this before so I’m exited to taste the results, I filleted them and skinned them, this was no easy task mind you as they were supper small, anyway after doing them all I munched the fillets up with my hand held electric mixer and added enough water to get a sloppy smooth mixture happening, I then pushed the mixture through a metal strainer this was a bit hard but no harder than pushing berries through a strainer for sauces etc if you have done that you can do this. I ended up with a good 500 grams or so of smooth, translucent goo, it looked a bit like the glue we used to get a school when I was a kid.
My recipe has my fermented Scarlet Runner Bean mix in it which I have mentioned previously this makes it nice and tangy, doesn’t matter if you don’t have this but it is really nice with it! The rest of the ingredients is below.

  • Fish Pulp 500gms
  • Whole meal flour 1 cup
  • Chick pea flour 1/2
  • Dried Nettles (Urtica dioica) 1/4 cup
  • Salt & Pepper
  • 1 tsp. Cumin, Coriander seed, ground and Hot Paprika
  • 1 cup of fermented Scarlet Runner Bean mixture

Once you have mixed this all together let it rest over night this just allows all the flavors to come out and all the juices to be absorbed by the flours and if you have added the fermented ingredients this time gets all the good bacteria happening, it just changes the texture and flavors than just using it strait up, well in other patties I’ve made it does anyway!

I served this with Sow Thistle (Sonchus sp.) fried in hot frying pan, then just covered with water and simmered until liquid is gone, baby green button Squash fried in a little oil until just blistered and colored, fresh Lemon slices and my fermented Zucchinni, Chilly and Tassie Pepper Berry (Tasmannia lanceolata) relish. YUM!
It was just superb I alway find Squash goes really well with fish as it is a bit fishy itself and the slight bitterness of the Sow Thistle the heat of the relish and fresh lemon just rounded it all off perfectly!

Leave a Reply

