Simply Chickweed

Come on rainnnnnnn I don’t want to hobble outside to water the yard!

This morning I harvested my first Carrots and baby Squash from my garden yum! It is the first time I have grown red Carrots they look stunning and I thought I would just grab some other ingredients from around the yard Purple Orach and some lush Chickweed (Stellaria media) and make a lunch out of it! Why not!

I like to keep my food simple as I recon it’s the best way to enjoy all the individual flavours, I like fancy meals too don’t get me wrong but the first harvest of the season has to be just simple so I can appreciate all my hard work and also if it is simple I can check out any new flavors from any new plants I haven’t grown or tasted before.

Gorgeous Chickweed ready to use

Stunning Red Carrots

 

 

 

 

 

 

So after picking and taking their photo, I could take pictures of  Veggies all day they are so beautiful as beautiful as any flowers, I rinsed and clean the Chickweed by just plucking the very ends and any big leaves off, I chopped an Onion, Garlic, Carrots, Squash and the Orach. I couldn’t believe the Carrots were orange inside they are so stunning much more exiting than just plain orange Carrots, anyway I put 1 teaspoon of olive oil into my wok and fried the Onion and Garlic for about 2 minutes until Onions were translucent I then added the Squash and Carrots fried for 1 more minute then I added wait for it….. fermented Kale juice!! First time for everything and because this is quite salty I didn’t have to add extra salt just pepper. So I simmered this for about 2 minutes so the Carrots and Squash are still crunchy they must still be crunchy because now I add the Orach and Chickweed just for the last 2 minute and its done, I like my Carrots and Squash to still be crunchy but ever so slightly tender not mushy Yuck….. nothing worse than over cook Squash.

It is simple but the flavors were great I could taste each different veg which is what I was aiming for and using the Kale juice was a great idea it was salty with a bit of tang, I guess it’s a bit like using a stock really and always on hand in my house as I always have something fermenting!!

Prepared meal

Now I am sitting here writing this with a Herb poultice on my dicky knee, I bruised and chopped some Comfrey (Symphytum officinale), Mullein (Verbascum thapsus), Dock (Rumex obtusifolius) and an Onion with Whole leaves of  the Dock and Mullein on top of the chopped up mix to hold in place and so the bandage that i put on top of all this doesn’t get to dirty and smelly, done!

Here’s hoping it helps, I can feel the Onion it is really cold like tiger balm so lets see if this helps, I really want to use more herbs for healing and I’m a great guinea pig because I’m a chronic pain sufferer and there seems to always be something wrong with some part of my body……  I don’t get sick otherwise so I guess thats something, touch wood! So I hope to be able to share a lot of herbal healing ideas and experiences in the coming years…..

Well where ever you are and what ever season I hope you are getting as much joy and healing from your gardens as I am! 🙂

Leave a Reply

