Plantain seeds Yum….

 

 

Plantain (Plantago lanceolata) is a useful plant indeed, the young green baby leaves can be plucked and put into salads early in the season the more developed leaves can be steamed with other greens, they go great with Dandelion (Taraxacum officinale) greens, just drizzle olive oil over them, salt and pepper a squeeze of lemon and you have a meal fit for any concerning taste buds.

Plantain (Plantago lanceolata)

Plantain (Plantago lanceolata)

Plantain (Plantago lanceolata)

Cleaned Plantain leaves

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Even later in the season you can use the seeds, this was the first year I experimented with the seeds and it can be a leap for some I know, I would not have believed you if you told me I would be eating these now, when I was a child as our favourite game was picking the longest flower stalks with the fattest seed heads we would wack each other’s to see who’s would break first. We would also chase each other attempting to whack each other’s bare legs with them in summer which at the time we thought was quiet funny. So from that to being one of my favourite foods well no wonder kids think adults are crazy!

Plantains in seed in my weed pasture

My weed pasture in the front yard is well established now this is the same plant in the first picture and I have several gorgeous Plantains mostly Plantago lanceolata, myself and my menagerie grazed of this pasture all spring and enjoyed the greens from the plantain’s, the bees luved the flowers so everyone is happy and had full tummies.

When I decided the seeds were ready, the ones that have finished flowering all I did was pick the plump seed spikes and hang them upside down to dry once mostly dry say a week or so I then remove the individual seed and ground them in my coffee grinder, they are still a bit moist which is good, I think if they were completely dry there wouldn’t be much left, it is a bit of a mission for the grinder you just need to much them a bit so they almost make a corse paste them I added them to a muffin mix so just 1 1/2 cups whole meal flour, 1/2 cup of Plantain seed paste, 1 table spoon of wild laurel jam, ½ cup oil, 2 table spoons raw sugar and a pinch of natural bicarb and baked for 20 minute.
Plantain seeds can have a laxative effect so don’t eat to much the first time to see how they affect you.

Plantain muffins

Well I was really impressed with the texture and the taste and these will definitely be on my too harvest list every year, I am going to freeze the seed mix to use through winter in breads and muffin’s. So give it a go and see what you think and plant some plantains or just don’t pull some out next year, let them seed you wont be sorry.

2 comments on “Plantain seeds Yum….

  1. At what point are the seeds ready? Do you forage them while still green or do you pull them when they are brown?

  2. Wow it’s bin ages since I did these, I remember just checking the plants oftern until I thought the seeds looked really plump n some just some started to brown meaning to me they were ripe, I didn’t dry them outside on plant i put them inside encase of rain ect. If you live where you think they wont get wet when you think they are ready try drying some on the plants for an experiment just watch for mold and Good luck, they weren’t something I really really loved so didn’t experiment much with them they are kind ov on my survival list.

Leave a Reply

